Native vegetation of southeast NSW: a revised classification and map for the coast and eastern tablelands

  • Native vegetation of the NSW south coast, escarpment and southeast tablelands was classified into 191 floristic assemblages at a level of detail appropriate for the discrimination of Threatened Ecological Communities and other vegetation units referred to in government legislation. Assemblages were derived by a numerical analysis of 10832 field sample quadrats including 8523 compiled from 63 previous vegetation surveys. Past bias in the distribution of field data towards land under public tenure was corrected by extensive surveys carried out on private land. The classification revises and integrates the units described in recent vegetation studies of Eden, Cumberland Plain and Sydney-south coast into a single, consistent classification. Relationships between floristic assemblages and climate, terrain, substrate and vegetation structure were used to map the distribution of communities prior to clearing at 1:100 000 scale. The extent of clearing was mapped using interpretations of remote imagery (1991–2001) from previous work, standardised and merged into a single coverage and supplemented with additional work. Profiles for each assemblage, which we term ‘communities’ or ‘map units’, describe their species composition, vegetation structure, environmental habitat, the extent of clearing and conservation status. Lists of diagnostic species were defined using a statistical fidelity measure and a procedure for using these for community identification is described. Approximately 66% of the study area retains a cover of native vegetation, primarily in areas with low fertility soils and dissected topography. Communities subject to over-clearing (>70%) are concentrated in a few large areas characterised by clay/loam soils and flat to undulating terrain. These include the Sydney metropolis, Wingecarribee Plateau, Illawarra Plain, Shoalhaven floodplain, Araluen Valley and Bega Valley, and various smaller river valleys. Forty-one percent of remaining native vegetation is protected within conservation reserves while 31% occurs on private land, 20% in State Forests and 8% on other Crown lands. Forty-five Threatened Ecological Communities (TECs) were recorded in the study area. The majority of TECs are represented by a single map unit, although in some cases a TEC is included within a broader map unit. Twelve TECs are represented by combinations of two or more map units.
Author:Mark G. Tozer, Ken Turner, David A. Keith, Daniel Tindall, Christopher Pennay, Christopher C. Simpson, Berin MacKenzie, P. Beukers, Stephen Cox
Parent Title (English):Cunninghamia : a journal of plant ecology for eastern Australia
Publisher:Mount Annan Botanic Garden, The Administration Officer
Place of publication:Mount Annan, NSW
Document Type:Article
Year of Completion:2010
Year of first Publication:2010
Publishing Institution:Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg
Release Date:2013/04/12
Page Number:48
First Page:359
Last Page:406
Dewey Decimal Classification:5 Naturwissenschaften und Mathematik / 58 Pflanzen (Botanik) / 580 Pflanzen (Botanik)
Sammlungen:Sammlung Biologie / Sondersammelgebiets-Volltexte
Zeitschriften / Jahresberichte:Cunninghamia : A Journal of Plant Ecology for Eastern Australia / Cunninghamia : A Journal of Plant Ecology for Eastern Australia, Volume 11, Issue 3 (2010)
Licence (German):License LogoDeutsches Urheberrecht